If you know me (Danyell), you know that I love me some WHISKEY. So needless to say, I was very excited about our next adventure.  After picking up our rental car and heading out of Dublin toward Galway, we had stops planned at two whiskey distilleries.  First up was Kilbeggan…

Our very first whiskey distillery experience!  Originally the distillery for Locke Whiskey, they now make small batches of Kilbeggan blended whiskey.  It’s the oldest continually licensed whiskey distillery in the world!  Their parent company also makes Tyrconnell and Connemara single malt whiskeys in other parts of Ireland, so we got to taste all three in the whiskey bar after the tour.  YUM!
A peak out the window to the water wheel powered by the River Brosna
Big ol’ grind stone, made in Liverpool
Old whiskey vats

Watch and listen to these giant gears at work in the video at the end!
Ben demonstrating how big the whiskey barrel is. He is such a helper.
Ben doing the good ‘ol whiskey planking.   Planking might already be old, but so is Ben.
WHISKEY!
Ben giving this experience a thumbs up.

Tried to get my name on a barrel, but I forgot my sharpie.
As I stood here, starring at all of these barrels full of whiskey, I felt at peace… and VERY thirsty.
We tried to get the fork lift to load up the car, but no luck.
Goodies from the gift shop!  The liquid portions didn’t make it back to states for some odd reason.
After finding space in our tiny Suzuki Alto for my Kilbeggan goodies, we’re off to the next distillery!  If you’re in Ireland, keep an eye out for this license plate – it’s been Padgett-fied!
Woohoo! Tullamore Dew! Just a few minutes from Kilbeggan, on the banks of the Tullamore River.

Tullamore Dew was more of a museum rather than an old distillery, but they had some cool artifacts like this old bottling system
It’s named after the town of Tullamore and the initials of the founder: Daniel E. Williams
Two distilleries and many whiskey tastings later…this ladies and gentlemen is how it ends. I got locked up and put on display for all of the town to see. I’ve gotta say…I’D DO IT ALL AGAIN!

Turn it up to hear the spooky gears turning followed by whiskey barrels being made.  Near the end you can even hear the yeast at work!  The first vat shown has just had yeast added, the second vat is a day or two into the fermentation process with active yeast, then the third vat is near the end of fermentation before it’s triple-distilled.

Later in the trip we also toured the Jameson Experience in County Cork, and we stopped by the Old Jameson Distillery in Dublin.  Stay tuned!